Starting Somewhere

11 09 2009

While I am not a new knitter, I am a new knit-blogger.  With the exception of a very neglected tumblog, but I don’t really count that because tumblr doesn’t feel like a real blog to me.  So here I am introducing myself once again on the internet and hoping that out there some of you are reading!

Since this is a blog about my knitting, I will let my current WIP’s do the talking for me.

Here’s a Wendy Johnson pattern (Ribbed Ribbons) in Louet Gems Fingering Weight in Bright Red.

Ribbed Ribbons Socks

Now I am not a fan of very bright colored yarns as a rule, and I ordered this yarn online pretty impulsively.  I will admit that when it arrived I was skeptical.  Very skeptical.  But I told myself “Hey, self, these are socks and if there is one thing to knit a little out of your color comfort zone, it is socks lady!”

And let me tell you, I am really loving the bright red.  I’ve also realized that I tend to WEAR a lot of bright red, shirts and dresses specifically, and maybe there will be a day that I will be real ballsy and I will wear these bright red socks with a skirt and cute shoes, but I think it is more likely that I will wear them under jeans and I will just know that they are there and bright red all on their own!  (Louet Gems is a really fabulous fingering weight yarn though, it’s the perfect amount squishy and just thick enough to make me feel like these socks are knitting up quickly)

Second and last order of business for tonight, another pair of Socks In Progress (SiP’s!)  It’s a second Wendy pattern (there is a September Wendy Knit A Long people!)  These are her Rivulets and I am using AMAZING Slackford Studio Bonny BFL Fingering in colorway “Modest Blush.”  The yarn is a dream, unbelievably soft and a great weight for socks, nice and thin and can be used with my preferred 2 mm US 0’s.

Rivulets Socks

I am knitting both of these socks Two at a Time Magic Loop, and I am honestly pretty excited about this because I taught myself only last week.  It’s great for me because I tend to put second socks off, and this way when I’m done with one I’m done with the whole pair.

(One last thing, both of these pairs are past the heel now, I just don’t have updated pictures but I’ll get to that this weekend along with, I hope, pictures of some other WIP’s*)

*Just a warning right now they are almost all socks!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

