One Knitter’s Opinion

9 10 2009

Firstly, I am well aware that I have neglected my blog for the 10 days-ish, I was very busy and I am very sorry!

I was also, to some extent, neglecting my knitting but that has changed this week.

It is too dark for me to take a photo for you right now, so you will have to wait until tomorrow for a photo, but I want to talk about one of my absolute favorite knitting actions.  There is very little that gives me as much pleasure as a well executed slip stitch gusset heel.  I tried to get on board with short row heels, they are nice and they’re very easy (in my opinion), but they do very little for the beauty of a sock (still my opinion).  While I am turning the heel of a sock and slipping those babies and watching the gusset turn from a big flat ugly thing to a 3 dimensional cradle for my foot it is just beautiful.  I think ALL yarns look gorgeous in slipped stitch, solids and variegateds alike, and, well, I could continue on all day.  But I will not do that.  I will just say that I have just turned the heel on a pair of Nanner’s in Malabrigo Sock yarn (which is an absolute dream to work with by the way, so so soft!) and it has made me very happy on this Friday that I am stuck home.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

