Loves it!

19 11 2009

Welcome to my WIP’s, new sock, you are my new favorite.

 

I should explain things further no?  So I kept telling myself that once I finished a couple of projects I could start a new one.  And then if I finish another two projects I can start another new one, etc.  This all stemmed from realizing that my nightstand has become a crazy den of projects that are 3/4 of the way finished (and a couple of projects that are not anywhere near finished too).

 

Well I accomplished my goal by finishing the two Hunter Hammerson patterns I recently talked about (Bedizen, the lacy one, is still in progress but only missing one half of one foot and one toe!!!), and so this treasure was born.  The pattern is Chevvy and it’s one of many fantastic patterns in Knitting Sock with Handpainted Yarns.  I have had this book for a few months, I had read it thoroughly and been applying the information about color and pattern I learned there.  However;  I hadn’t yet knit any patterns.

 

I pulled out all of the sock yarn in my stash (meager compared to most people since I’ve been trying to use stash before buying too much new yarn), and then flipped through multiple pages of multiple books comparing different colors and yarn fibers, and I had even decided on a completely different pattern with completely different yarn when this Misti Alpaca Hand Painted Sock Yarn caught my eye.  I had tried it with a few different patterns before, but the colorway (Maple Grey) combined with the softness and drape of the alpaca blend really obliterated any stitchwork, I decided to give it one last try and I am really glad I did!!  I think this half of a sock leg is fantastic.  I really do, and I’m really thrilled to see how the rest of it plays out.

 

My only qualm now is that I’m still trying to be a “good” knitter and finish up my lingering WiP’s… more on those next time!

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

